New Board of Trustees Committee Structure

The Board of Trustees in March 2012 created five new standing committees to supersede the three that had been in place for many years. The new committees align more closely with University operations and are better positioned to consult with appropriate constituent groups, thus improving accessibility to the Board. The committees make recommendations to the full board on potential actions related to the areas they oversee.

The Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Life considers issues involving faculty, instruction, research, continuing education and all phases of student life.

The Committee on Finance, Business and Capital Planning focuses on finance, business, budgets, human resources, investments, contracts, grants, fees, room and board charges, and the long-range financial planning and development of the University. This committee also has responsibility for the University's capital plan and the long-range comprehensive physical plant and infrastructure development at each campus.

Three subcommittees are responsible for

The Committee on Governance and Long-Range Planning provides counsel to the board concerning the development of strategies, policies and practices that orient, educate, organize, motivate and assess the performance of Trustees. It also will oversee any changes to the expectations of membership and conduct for all Trustees, candidates for election to the board's executive committee, and recommendation of emeritus status for retiring Trustees. The committee will participate in the University's long-range strategic planning process.

The Committee on Audit, Risk, Legal and Compliance is responsible for understanding and interpreting the University's financial statements, and reviewing financial trends and the impact of economic events on the University. It oversees periodic audits of financial activities and ensures adherence to legal and fiduciary responsibilities.

Two subcommittees are responsible for

The Committee on Outreach, Development and Community Relations focuses on the University's internal and external constituents, working to educate faculty, staff, students, alumni, government officials and the public about the role of the board, communicating the value of all of Penn State's locations to constituents, and developing communications plans that reflect University priorities.

All committees consist of at least six appointed members in addition to ex-officio members. Members will be appointed to one-year terms by the chair of the Board of Trustees after consultation with the president of the University. In addition, the chair of the board, or in her absence, the vice-chair, is an ex-officio member of all standing committees, special committees and subcommittees. The president of the University is an ex-officio member of all standing committees, special committees and subcommittees, except for the subcommittee on audit of the Committee on Audit, Risk, Legal and Compliance.

In addition to the five new standing committees, an executive committee consisting of seven to 11 members is able to transact all necessary business that may arise in the intervals between regular meetings of the board. The chair of the board and the president of the University serve as ex officio members of the executive committee. For more information on the executive committee, visit