298-1 MINUTES OF MEETING

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

VOLUME 298 April 21, 2017

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees was held telephonically on Friday, April 21, 2017, beginning at 11:30 a.m.

The following Trustees were present: Lubert (chairman), Dambly (vice chairman), Barron, Brown, Casey, Cotner, Dambly, Dandrea, Detwiler, Doran, Goldstein, Harpster, Hartzler, Hoffman, Jubelirer, Kleppinger, Lubrano, Mead, Metaxas, Oldsey, Pope, Potts, Salvino, Schneider, Schuyler, and Tribeck.

Also present by invitation were the Governor's non-voting representative, Shipley; staff members Andrews, Bundy, Guadagnino, and Poole; and Dean Hardin of the College of Communications.

Chairman Lubert called the meeting to order. The roll was called by Jeanie Andrews, Associate Secretary of the Board. Chair Lubert stated that the sole purpose of the meeting was to consider a significant gift recognition; President Barron provided information and comment regarding the nature, scope and impact of the gift.

Following discussion and comments, Chair Lubert asked Ms. Andrews to read the resolution into the record:

"WHEREAS the President has recommended to the Board of Trustees that in recognition of a transformative \$30 million gift from Donald P. Bellisario, under conditions agreed-upon between the donor and the University, the College of Communications be renamed The Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications;

"THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the College of Communications be named The Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications, effective immediately."

A motion to approve the resolution was provided by Trustee Jubelirer; a second was provided by Trustee Kleppinger. Trustee Lubrano offered comments on the motion. Chair Lubert asked for a roll call vote on the resolution. The vote to accept the resolution passed, 26-0.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 11:44 a.m.

An audio stream of the meeting is available in its entirety at https://youtu.be/cMLSpFPU5Kk

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews Associate Secretary, Board of Trustees