THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND COMPLIANCE MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME LC 19

February 23, 2017

A meeting of the Committee on Legal and Compliance was held in Room 218, Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel, at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, February 23, 2017.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Richard Dandrea, Kathy Casey, Ira Lubert, Keith Masser, Julie Anna Potts, and Rob Tribeck. Student Representative Kevin Horne, along with the following administrators and staff members were also present: Eric Barron, Regis Becker, Steve Dunham, David Gray, Frank Guadagnino, Gary Langsdale and Tom Poole.

The Committee received a report from Regis Becker that included updates about misconduct reports, annual compliance training, and the search for a new Athletics Integrity Officer. Committee Chair Dandrea indicated that there has been indications of training being made available to trustees and inquired on the status of that effort. Regis also provided participation results for annual compliance training.

Steve Dunham facilitated a generative dialogue on the issue of possible post-election legal and regulatory changes affecting higher education and how the University might plan and prepare for such changes. Zack Moore, Vice President for Government and Community Relations, and Amanda Wintersteen, Director of Federal Relations, joined the Committee for this conversation. Dialogue focused on several areas that national groups of higher education are focusing on that may have impact or effect on higher education. Among many topics, areas such as campus climate, free speech, DACA/immigration, and other issues of regulation, policy or guidance are areas that will require ongoing monitoring and conversation.

The public meeting of the Committee was adjourned at 3:20 p.m. Steve Dunham then provided an attorney-client privileged legal update in executive session. All Trustees in attendance who are not members of the Committee (Trustees Brown, Dambly, Detwiler, Doran, Fenza, Hartzler, Hoffman, Huber, Jubelirer, Kleppinger, Lubrano, McCombie, Oldsey, Salvino and Weinstein; and, Governor's Representative Shipley) were invited by the Chair to stay for the executive session.

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews Director, Office of the Board of Trustees