## THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND COMPLIANCE MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME LC 16

July 21, 2016

A meeting of the Committee on Legal and Compliance was held in Room 109, Nesbitt Academic Commons, Penn State Wilkes-Barre at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, July 21, 2016.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Richard Dandrea, Kathy Casey, Bob Capretto, Ira Lubert, Keith Masser, Julie Anna Potts, and Rob Tribeck. The following administrators and staff members were also present: Eric Barron, Regis Becker, Julie Del Giorno, Steve Dunham, David Gray, Frank Guadagnino, Nick Jones, Gary Langsdale and Tom Poole.

Chair Dandrea called the meeting to order and minutes from the February 25, 2016 and May 5, 2016 minutes were unanimously approved.

The Committee had one action item, which was a resolution providing authority to file annual liquor license renewals, applications, or other related filings. The motion to recommend this to the full Board was made by Trustee Capretto; seconded by Trustee Casey; and, approved unanimously.

Regis Becker provided the Committee with a presentation and overview of the Compliance Plan, including providing a context of each Ethics and Compliance program. In addition, Regis reviewed the major compliance issues facing the University. A suggestion was made to make training opportunities available to Trustees. Julie Del Giorno reviewed the essential elements and structural components that make up the athletics integrity program.

Steve Dunham solicited Committee members' perspectives on additional ways in which the Office of General Counsel can help further the mission of Penn State.

The public meeting of the Committee was adjourned at 2:06 p.m. Steve Dunham then provided an attorney-client privileged legal update in executive session. All Trustees in attendance who are not members of the Committee (Trustees Brown, Doran, Han, Hoffman, Mead, Oldsey, Salvino, Schneider, Schuyler and Weinstein) were invited by the Chair to stay for the executive session.

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews
Director
Office of the Board of Trustees