THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT LIFE MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME AASL 21

July 20, 2017

A meeting of the Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Life was held in Room W132 of the Olmsted Building at Penn State Harrisburg, Middletown, PA, at 10:00 a.m. on July 20, 2017

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Chair Abe Harpster, Vice Chair Allie Goldstein, and Alice Pope.

The following staff members were present: Nick Jones, Rob Pangborn, Damon Sims, and Ann Wyatt. Graduate and Professional Student Association Vice President, Brianne Pragg, Faculty Senate Chair-elect, Michael Bérubé, and Staff Advisory Council Immediate Past Chair, John Ilie, were also present. Also present by invitation were 2016-2017 Administrative Fellows Zaryab Iqbal, Clarabelle Lin, and Felisa Preciado; and Penn State Harrisburg (PSHBG) Chancellor Mukund Kulkarni, along with invited PSWB students, staff and faculty.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Harpster at 10:00 a.m. *Minutes* of the May 4, 2017 meeting of the Committee were approved with amendments.

Chair Harpster called on Rob Pangborn, Vice President and Dean for Undergraduate Education, for his report. Rob updated the Committee on summer/fall new student admissions, progress on the implementation of the General Education integrative studies requirement, and the opening of the new Center for Financial Literacy and Wellness. Nick Jones, Executive Vice President and Provost, provided an update on searches, appointments, LionPath, Canvas, WorkLion, and the replacement of the University's financial mainframe (IBIS). Finally, Damon Sims, Vice President for Student Affairs, provided updates on the Student Affairs unit reorganization at University Park, the University's relationship to its fraternities and sororities, and the increased staffing for Counseling and Psychological Services.

Chair Harpster called on Brianne Pragg, who reported on student government events and initiatives, including communication with state legislators, campus transition, the Student Fee Board, international student scheduling, recycling efforts, surveys, and planning for roundtables.

The Committee reviewed a proposed administrative appointment and, following remarks from Executive Vice President and Provost, Nicholas P. Jones, a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved by the Committee to recommend the following resolution to the Board for approval:

RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees hereby approves President Eric J. Barron's appointment of Dr. Lee R. Kump to the position of Dean of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences effective immediately.

The Committee then reviewed a second proposed administrative appointment and, following remarks from Executive Vice President and Provost, Nicholas P. Jones, a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved by the Committee to recommend the following resolution to the Board for approval:

RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees hereby approves President Eric J. Barron's appointment of Dr. Justin Schwartz to the position of the Harold and Inge Marcus Dean in the College of Engineering effective August 15, 2017.

Dr. Kulkarni welcomed the Committee to campus, and introduced staff members Dr. Omid Ansary, Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Dr. Jeff Beck, Director of School of Humanities; Dr. Stephan Schappe, Director of School of Business Administration; Dr. Holly Angelique, Director School of Behavior Sciences and Education; Dr. Patria De Lancer Julnes, Director of School of Public Affairs; Dr. Susannah Gal, Associate Dean of Research and Outreach; and Dr. Peter Idowu, Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies. Dr. Kulkarni then introduced faculty members Simon Bronner, Distinguished Professor of American Studies, and Kevin Harter, Professor of Practice, Science, Engineering, and Technology; Business Administration; and Director, Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

Dr. Bronner spoke about the Doctoral Program in American Studies, followed by his students who reflected on their experiences in the program; they were: Rosemary Yee, Jennifer Drissel, Jeff Puckett, and Ralph Godbolt. Mr. Harter then shared information on Penn State Harrisburg's Entrepreneurship program, which is part of the INVENT Penn State initiative.

Finally, Nick Jones, introduced the 2016-2017 Administrative Fellows, Zaryab Iqbal, Clarabelle Lin, and Felisa Preciado, who provided reflections on their experiences in this program.

The public session of the Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Life was adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann M. Wyatt
Administrative Support Coordinator
Office of the Board of Trustees