## THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE AND LONG-RANGE PLANNING MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME GLRP 11

## January 15, 2015

A meeting of the Committee on Governance and Long-Range Planning was held in Room 211, The Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel, University Park, Pennsylvania, beginning at 1:00 p.m. on January 15, 2015.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Richard Dandrea, Barbara Doran, Keith Eckel, Betsy Huber, Anthony Lubrano, Keith Masser, Dan Mead, and Carl Shaffer.

Representatives Roger Egolf and Emily McDonald were in attendance, as well as the following staff members: Eric Barron, Steve Dunham, Frank Guadagnino, and Tom Poole. Jonna Kulikowich, University Faculty Senate Chair. Allison Goldstein, Student Trustee; and Student leaders, Anand Ganjam, Emily McDonald, Danielle Rhubart and John Shaffer were also present.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Eckel at 12:59 p.m. The Committee unanimously approved the minutes from the November 13 meeting.

Chairman Eckel followed up on dialogue from a previous meeting regarding sourcing out future topics for Committee discussion. He reiterated that members of the Committee should send their topics of interest for future meetings to Frank Guadagnino or Tom Poole.

Chairman Eckel called on Allison Goldstein, Student Trustee, to present information on the operating Guidelines for Selection Group and the Student Trustee Selection Process. Student leaders who also assisted in the presentation were Anand Ganjam, President, UPUA, Emily McDonald, Vice President, UPUA, Danielle Rhubart, President, GPSA and John Shaffer, President, CCSG. After discussion, the Committee voted to accept the proposal pending two modifications: 1) correction of an error on the date of call for applications to be January 16, and 2) the Core Team will select the preferred candidate, who will be recommended to the Governance and Long-Range Planning Committee, and ranked alternate candidates as appropriate.

Chairman Eckel called on Jonna Kulikowich and Roger Egolf to present an overview of the Senate Council Nominating Process for the Academic Trustee. After discussion, the Committee voted to accept the proposal.

Frank Guadagnino reviewed with the Committee the Agricultural Delegate Procedures and Guidelines.

Mr. Guadagnino then spoke to the Proposed Accommodation for Membership on the Selection Group on Board Membership for At-Large Trustees. After discussion, the committee voted to approve the proposal, with Trustee Lubrano casting a vote against the proposal.

Chairman Eckel then put forth a proposed resolution to fill a vacancy on the Hershey Board of Directors, previously held by Jim Broadhurst. Peter Tombros was proposed by Chair Masser to fill the unexpired term, which ends on June 30, 2016. The Committee voted to recommend Mr. Tombros to a seat on the Hershey Board of Directors.

Chairman Eckel called on Richard Dandrea to lead a governance discussion on three topics: 1) Procedure for Calling Special Meetings, 2) Rules for Conducting Board/Committee Meetings and 3) Standing Order IX, Emerti Trustees.

Tom Poole gave an update of the Presidential Search Task Force.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:58 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas J. Penkala Associate Director Board of Trustees