LC 5-1

Board of Trustees

Committee on Legal and Compliance

Minutes of Meeting

VOLUME LC 5

July 10, 2014

A meeting of the Committee on Legal and Compliance was held in Room 114 of the Classroom Building, Penn State Schuylkill, Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, at 3:10 p.m. on Thursday, July 10, 2014.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Kenneth Frazier, Kathleen Casey, Richard Dandrea, George Greig, Keith Masser, and Adam Taliaferro. Non-Committee trustees in attendance were Bob Jubelirer, Al Lord, and Anthony Lubrano. The following staff members were also present: Eric Barron, Regis Becker, Julie Del Giorno, Steve Dunham, David Gray, Frank Guadagnino, Gary Langsdale and Tom Poole.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Frazier. The minutes of the May 8, 2014 meeting were approved.

Regis Becker, Director of University Ethics and Compliance reviewed the Legal and Compliance Committee Charter and proposed amendment for his office to provide updates on important ethics and compliance matters, including a not-less-than-annual report on the results of the ethics hotline and other significant misconduct matters. A motion was made by Rick Dandrea to adopt the changes in the charter, with a second by Adam Taliaferro; the motion passed unanimously. Regis also provided an explanation of the internal ethics and compliance committee structure and a review of the compliance training efforts of the University and provided a year-to-date review of the Ethics Hotline/misconduct reporting results.

Julie Del Giorno, Athletics Integrity Officer, provided a refresher on the essential elements of the Athletics Integrity Agreement, and reported on the annual requirements that are reported to the NCAA, the Big 10, and Senator Mitchell and his staff in their role as NCAA monitor.

Steve Dunham noted that his items would be covered in closed session as they are protected by the attorney-client privilege and would cover Sandusky-related as well as other matters and issues. The committee then went into privileged executive session, with non-Committee trustees Jubelirer, Lord and Lubrano invited to stay for the executive session.

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews Director, Board of Trustees