## THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## COMMITTEE ON COMPENSATION MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME COMP 11

July 16, 2015

A meeting of the Committee on Compensation was held on Thursday, July 16, 2015, beginning at 4:00 p.m. in Room 106, Classroom Building, Penn State Beaver, Monaca, Pennsylvania.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Kathy Casey (via telephone), Mark Dambly, Keith Masser, and Paul Silvis. Eric Barron, Susan Basso, Joe Doncsecz and David Gray were present.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Silvis, and minutes of the March 19, 2015 meeting were approved.

Chairman Silvis noted that Section III, #4 of the Compensation Committee Operating Guidelines require amendment to update certain executive positions into the Guidelines. Susan Basso provided the context for these modifications and the amendments were passed unanimously by the Committee.

Chairman Silvis noted that the Committee met in executive session on June 29, 2015 to review salary information and recommendations for Tier II and Tier IIA executives. President Barron provided his background and reflections on those recommendations, and the Committee unanimously approved the recommendations presented by President Barron for the following annual salaries effective July 1, 2015: Steve Dunhan, \$551,364; Nick Jones, \$511,296; Rod Kirsch, \$481,320; David Gray, \$470,568; and, Sandy Barbour, \$720,996.

Chairman Silvis noted that also during the June 29, 2015 executive session, the Committee reviewed President Barron's goals and accomplishments as well as performance feedback. Additionally, a review of a Presidential Competitive Pay Analysis was prepare by an external consultant. Based upon that process, the Committee unanimously recommended to present to the full Board for its review and action that in lieu of an increase to base salary for fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015, President Barron be extended a one-time lump sum payment of \$24,000 (representing 3% of his base salary as of June 30, 2015) to be paid in a one-time lump sum distribution on August 31, 2015.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews Director Board of Trustees