## COMP 12-1

## THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## COMMITTEE ON COMPENSATION MINUTES OF MEETING VOLUME COMP 11

## October 15, 2015

A meeting of the Committee on Compensation was held telephonically on Thursday, October 15, 2015, beginning at 4:45 p.m. Public audio-streaming of the meeting was available through WPSU.

The following committee members, constituting a quorum, were present: Kathy Casey, Mark Dambly, Committee Vice Chair Ira Lubert, and Keith Masser. Susan Basso, Joe Doncsecz, David Gray and Nick Jones also were present on the call.

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chairman Lubert, and minutes of the July 16, 2015 meeting were approved.

Vice Chairman Lubert noted that Operating Guidelines for the Committee require that executive positions may be amended as appropriate by the Committee. Susan Basso reviewed the proposed addition of the position of Vice Provost for Planning and Assessment. A motion for approval of this amendment was passed unanimously.

Vice Chairman Lubert reviewed several items for Committee consideration and action regarding executive life insurance, as follows, with all being approved unanimously by the Committee:

- As five University employees were recently reclassified from an administrator position to Tier III or Tier IV executive status, a motion unanimously passed to approve senior University's leadership's recommendation to allow years of service in previous positions to count toward vesting for purposes of executive life insurance.
- Regarding the issue of sub-standard executive life insurance premiums, the Committee unanimously approved a recommendation that in such cases the University will only pay the standard premium; any additional costs would be paid by the individual employee.
- The Committee unanimously voted that in cases of interim executive appointments, persons holding such positions on an interim basis will receive regular employee benefits with no executive coverage during such interim appointment.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:53 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Janine S. Andrews Director Board of Trustees